Thanksgiving and Psalm 23

One of my favorite days of the year happens to be Thanksgiving, and one of my favorite passages from the Bible is Psalm 23. I thought I would reflect on both.

It’s Sunday night as I’m writing this, three days after Thanksgiving, and I’m still full from all the turkey, stuffing, and pumpkin pie that I consumed. Why do I eat so much on this one particular day of the year? I continue to tell myself (usually Thanksgiving night right before I go to bed and I’m about 8 pounds heavier and in some discomfort) that I won’t do that again. So much for will power or self control.image

I really do love Thanksgiving though. Not only the food and being able to get together with family and friends, but the whole idea of “Thanks Giving”. Taking the time on this one day to reflect and give thanks for everything that has been provided to me and my family. I appreciate the fact that we celebrate this day as a country as well. That we set aside one day a year to acknowledge what it is that we are all thankful for. I’m especially grateful that I have the opportunity to do this not only on Thanksgiving but everyday, to be able to thank God for everything, EVERYTHING, that He has given me.image

I’m thankful that THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD AND I SHALL NOT WANT. Even though there are times that I find myself wanting. That HE MAKES ME LIE DOWN IN GREEN PASTURES AND HE LEADS ME BESIDE QUIET WATERS. Always guiding me through life as long as I remember to keep my eyes focused on Him. That HE RESTORES MY SOUL and continues to bring me closer to Him.

I’m thankful that HE GUIDES ME IN PATHS OF RIGHTEOUSNESS FOR HIS NAMESAKE, and that even though I veer off that path way too often He always brings me back. I’m so thankful that EVEN THOUGH I WALK THROUGH THE VALLEY OF THE SHADOW OF DEATH, I WILL FEAR NO EVIL BECAUSE YOU ARE WITH ME; YOUR ROD AND YOUR STAFF GIVE ME COMFORT. How can I possibly be afraid when I know that God is with me, that He is always by my side. It says in Romans 8:31 – “If God is for us, who can be against us”? That gives me great comfort.

I’m thankful that YOU HAVE PREPARED A TABLE BEFORE ME IN THE PRESENCE OF MY ENEMIES, which assures me that you protect and watch over me at all times. YOU ANOINT MY HEAD WITH OIL AND MY CUP OVERFLOWS which means that I have an abundance of anything and everything that I could ever want.

I’m thankful that GOODNESS AND LOVE WILL BE WITH ME ALL THE DAYS OF MY LIFE, no matter what hardships, trials, or tribulations come my way, and that I WILL DWELL IN THE HOUSE OF THE LORD FOREVER. FOREVER, not the eighty or so years (on average) that I have here on this earth, but FOREVER.

imageIt is so comforting to know, and something that I cannot possibly be thankful enough for, that for all that God has provided for and given to me in my lifetime, that so much more awaits in eternity with Christ. In Philippians 1:23 Paul reflects on this, stating that to be with Christ is much better by far than anything you could possibly have here on earth, but that as long as the good Lord keeps us here there must be a reason, and that we are to continue to search for that reason and make the most of the time that has been given to us. I am thankful for the time the Lord has given me, extremely thankful. God has provided me with so much that I could never begin to thank Him enough.

So another Thanksgiving has come and gone. Good food, good friends, good family time. Plenty to be thankful for. As Christmas fast approaches there will be a lot going on and plenty of distractions for all of us. My prayer is that we can all keep our eyes on what is really important, what really matters, what gives us our meaning in life. Keeping our eyes on Him.

God bless and have a wonderful holiday season!

John Close-Up (498x700)

 

 

 

John Early
The Shoe Shine Guy

One thought on “Thanksgiving and Psalm 23

Leave a Reply

