Autumn

How does one describe the perfect day? The perfect picture? The perfect landscape? How do you convey to someone else what real beauty means to you? How do you describe Autumn?

Autumn has always been my favorite time of the year.  That season that falls right between summer and winter.  It is usually void of too many extremes.  Not too hot, not too cold.  It’s a comfortable time. Pleasant. Relaxing.

imageBut the thing that strikes me most about Autumn is the beauty of it all.  I am hard pressed to come up with another time of the year that exudes so much natural beauty.  I truly believe and understand that every day is a gift from God, and that in itself makes it a beautiful day.  But for me, God turns it up a few notches in Autumn.

It’s as if you’re looking at a Van Gogh landscape bathed in neon lights.  In a matter of weeks, or even days, the trees, like a chameleon, change colors.  The most vibrant reds, the brightest oranges, and the almost translucent yellows.  It often looks as though someone has hit the switch and actually turned the trees on.  This time of the year, this landscape, this season, has always been special to me.  It has been my favorite for as long as I can remember.

imageThe thing about seasons is that they don’t last.  They are just that, seasons.  Here for a little while and then gone.  I think that is what makes them so special; they always give us something to look forward to.  This Autumn will be gone soon enough.  Then Winter will settle in for a bit (usually much longer than a bit).  Then Spring, then Summer, and then Autumn again.  Life is one big cycle.  One changing season after another.

I think that God does this for a number of reasons.  One is to let us know that nothing is constant, except for Him.  Seasons come and go, people come and go, but He never changes.  No matter what “season” we happen to be in at this time in our life, He is right there by our side.  Through the harshest winter, or the hottest summer; He is there.  Whether we are having a good season or a bad one, He is there.

That always gives me comfort.  Knowing that no matter what comes my way, good or bad, happy or sad, pleasant or not, that He is there.  He is my Autumn.  He illuminates my day for me.  He puts the color in my life.image

Seasons will come and go.  The leaves will fall off the trees and the snow will come.  Springtime will show up, summer will arrive, and then, we will be back at Autumn.  All of this happens for a reason, most of which is beyond our understanding.

Whatever your favorite season is, or your favorite day, or your favorite moment; Remember that it was created by God.  He alone gives us our moments, our time, our seasons, our Autumn.

I thank Him for that every day and I hope that everyone can find their “Autumn” in their life. Ask Him and He will show it to you.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven…

God Bless,
John Close-Up (498x700)

 

John Early
The ShoeShine Guy

7 thoughts on “Autumn

  1. I love that …..”He is my Autumn. He illuminates my day for me. He puts the color in my life”. Can I steal that? I love you brother John!

  2. I always loved the anaology of the Seasons, especially to accept and love the season of life that you are currently in, or if it is challenging, knowing that it too will pass as all seasons do. Happy Autum to you, John!

  3. Another beautifully written article. Autumn has always been my favorite time of year…warm days, cool nights, radiant color, bonfires, the smell in the air….nothing like a Michigan Fall! Blessed to live here. Thanks for the reminder, John.

  4. John, I’m very impressed that you are willing to put your faith on the line like that for everyone to see. Christianity is almost becoming taboo in public discourse. Your expression was refreshing to see, and appreciated. God bless!

Leave a Reply

